The Lake District!

I seem to be in New Zealand’s own lake district, and although it’s not quite like home, it’s really beautiful! I’m in a place called Rotorua, which is famous for its geothermal springs. They’re pretty cool, and come in all forms, as ponds, mud pools, beaches and rocks, and you get them popping up everywhere!

I’m working for accommodation about 11km from the city, at a place called Lyons Lakestay. It sits right on one of the lakes, called Lake Okareka, so it’s been really nice just relaxing and enjoying the forests and trails that are dotted around. I’ve been here since Thursday, after leaving Mount Maunganui, which is where I’d been kiwi picking!
Kiwi picking didn’t turn out completely as I’d hoped, it wasn’t too bad, but unfortunately the weather wasn’t too great for a few days, so I only got to work four days. It isn’t too bad, but when I don’t have long in New Zealand, it was slightly annoying feeling like I could be somewhere else if we’re not working. But we managed to fit a couple more days in before I left, which was good. It wasn’t all too bad not working either, I loved being by the sea, and I’ve been trying to get back into running again, so it was good to go for runs along the beach and up the nearby mount. The actual kiwi picking was surprisingly hard! I think it takes some getting used to, but it’s nothing like having a nice walk around some trees. There are rows and rows of vines, and you simply go along picking every kiwi you see, putting them in a bag you where on your front, and then into a big bin, it was rewarding work!

So I decided to leave the Mount on Thursday, and thought it would be a good chance to try hitchhiking! It’s quite nerve racking, I guess because you’re not really sure of what’s going to happen, whereas on a bus you know exactly where you’re going, and what time you’ll be there! I guess you have to be spontaneous! I did enjoy it though, I only had to wait about 5 minutes before getting picked up by a really nice guy called Chris, who when I asked him what I did, spent the entire journey explaining a pitch of his own scheme, that promotes creativity, and he was trying to get lots of famous people involved, so that was pretty cool! He was going about half way to Rotorua, so after waiting for around 20 minutes, I was picked up by an incredibly nice Maori family, who were going to Auckland, they showed me a few key landmarks along the way too. I did enjoy it, and I think I had a very smooth day 🙂 I still like relaxing on a bus too though!

I soon arrived in Rotorua, where I got picked up by Cheryl, who has been hosting me for five days. She’s really really nice, and very relaxed! I just do around 3 hours of help around the house in the morning, and then have the rest of the day to do whatever! I also have my own apartment, which is luxury! I’m soon heading to a place called Taupo, which is around an hour away, so I’m going to try and hitchhike there again! I’m meeting a friend from school called Sam, so I can’t wait for that! I think we’re going to try some camping too!

Anyways, I better go! I’m going to try and write blogs a bit more! I haven’t been very good recently!/p>

Leave a comment